Naguib Sawiris Chair of Trustees

One of the most successful entrepreneurs in the world, leading numerous international conglomerates active in mining, real estate development, financial services, telecommunications, investment and media, including a majority stake in Euronews, among many other sectors. Chair of Orascom TMT Investments and Orascom Investment Holding, as well as La Mancha Holding. Big donor and very highly involved in political and humanitarian campaigns and initiatives across the world.

Giulio Terzi Trustee

Minister of Foreign Affairs of Italy (2011- 2013).
Permanent Representative of Italy to the United Nations in New York (2008- 2009).
Ambassador of Italy to the United States (2009- 2011).

Hon. Elisabetta Zamparutti Trustee

Treasurer of Hands off Cain, the international campaign for a universal moratorium on capital executions.
Former member of the Council of Europe’s Committee for the Prevention of Torture in respect of Italy.

David Kilgour Trustee

Former Canadian Secretary of State for Latin America and Africa (1997-2002) and Asia-Pacific (2002-2003). Member of the House of Commons from 1979 to 2006. Leading advocate for human dignity and good governance internationally. He and David Matas were nominated in 2010 for the Nobel Peace Prize for their book, Bloody Harvest, and campaign to end party-state-run organ abuse across China. He is co-chair of the NGO Canadian Friends of a Democratic Iran, a Senior Fellow of both the Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights and the Macdonald Laurier Institute. He also sits on the boards of the Helsinki-based First Step Forum, Ethiopiaid Canada, the Educational Foundation of the Canadian Association of Former Parliamentarians, and the session of Westminster Church. He has done doctoral studies in constitutional law from Faculty of Law at the Sorbonne in Paris.

Struan Stevenson Trustee

Former member of the European Parliament representing Scotland (1999-2014). President of the Parliament’s Delegation for Relations with Iraq (2009-14). Chairman of the Friends of a Free Iran Intergroup (2004-14). Coordinator of the Campaign for Iran Change (CiC). International lecturer on the Middle East and president of the European Iraqi Freedom Association (EIFA). Very deeply involved in political, justice and humanitarian campaigns, especially in the Middle East.

Mila Bessmann Trustee

Tech entrepreneur and digital artist. Worked for the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. Highly involved in political, justice and humanitarian issues. She has led the legal campaign against the nationalization of the largest woodworking holding in the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Naseer Shamma Trustee

One of the most renowned musicians in the world. Ambassador of Nonviolence International, Red Cross, Red Crescent and UNESCO Peace Artist. Has organised many nonviolence workshops in preparation for the first Nonviolence Conference in Iraq. Leading campaigner to include nonviolence principles in the Iraqi education curriculum. Has led and managed numerous big initiatives to rebuild lives and infrastructure. Working extensively on spreading tolerance through his music, activities and constant presence in the media.